Skip to main content

News

OpenAI DevDay 2026: everything announced, from dots to GPT-6.1 Sol, and what comes next

9 min read

OpenAI held DevDay 2026 at Fort Mason in San Francisco on September 29, with Sam Altman opening a keynote that packed in more than 20 launches. It came one day after OpenAI shelved GPT-6.1 Astra over safety test results, so the question going in was what it would ship instead.

The answer was a bet on agents that keep working after you close the chat, a cheaper model to run them on, and a set of plans and developer tools built around both. This guide covers what was announced, what it costs, what is confirmed for later and what we expect next, with the facts as they stand on launch day.

What was announced at OpenAI DevDay 2026?

These are the launches that matter most, in the order most people will care about them.

  • Dots, always-on agents inside ChatGPT that run on GPT-6 Astra, have their own cloud computer and browser, and connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins.
  • GPT-6.1 Sol, an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol that nearly matches GPT-6 Astra on coding, computer use and professional work at one fifth of Astra's token prices.
  • Ultrafast, a paid speed tier that runs up to 8 times faster in Codex and 6 times faster in the API, at 6 times the standard price.
  • A new Pro 500 plan at $500 a month with 25 times the Plus allowance and Ultrafast included, alongside a reopened Pro 200.
  • The Agents API in public beta, with hosted execution, memory, tools, computer use and multi-agent support.
  • Sign in with ChatGPT, which lets people spend their ChatGPT plan allowance inside 16 partner tools such as Notion, Vercel and Devin.
  • ChatGPT Space, a shared workspace for teams and their dots, plus Pages, a document editor built for people and agents to use together.
  • Codex in the cloud, so coding tasks keep running with the laptop closed, along with a refreshed CLI with two-way voice.
  • OpenAI Private Intelligence, a set of privacy controls starting with zero data retention and Private Safety Processing.

OpenAI also said ChatGPT now has 1.2 billion weekly users, and that API time to first token is 45% lower with tool calls more than 30% faster than before.

What are OpenAI dots?

Dots are personal agents that live inside ChatGPT and keep working when the chat is closed. Each one runs on GPT-6 Astra with its own cloud computer and browser, so it can carry out a task from start to finish rather than just answering a question about it. You give it a goal, it works through the steps, and it reports back.

You can reach a dot in ChatGPT on web, desktop and mobile, in Codex, in Slack and Teams, and by voice call, with texting on the way. Through plugins a dot can act inside more than 4,000 connected apps, and developers can give each dot its own identity, credentials and tools so it can own a specific job, such as watching customer feedback and fixing the bugs it finds.

Every dot has a face and a name you choose, which is what the image at the top of this page shows. In the keynote demos Alfred was a yellow pear in glasses and a bow tie, Felipe was a blue cloud in a beret, and the default dot, called Dottie, is a green bean shape with diamond eyes. The playful look is deliberate, since OpenAI wants people to think of a dot as a colleague rather than a chat window, and it puts OpenAI in direct competition with Meta's Muse and xAI's Grok agents.

How much do dots cost, and who can get them?

Your first dot is included with an eligible plan at no extra cost, and OpenAI says pricing for additional dots is coming later. At launch, dots are available to Pro and Business Premium subscribers in eligible markets, while Enterprise, Edu and Healthcare workspaces can try them in beta once an admin turns them on.

The EU and EEA, Switzerland and the UK are excluded at launch. OpenAI has not published the full list of eligible markets, so readers in Turkey and elsewhere should check the ChatGPT app directly.

DevDay also reshaped the Pro plans, which decides who gets dots and Ultrafast.

PlanPrice per monthUsage vs PlusDots and Ultrafast
Pro 100$1005xNot named in the launch materials
Pro 200$20010x for new subscribers, 20x kept for now by existing onesDots, no Ultrafast
Pro 500$50025xDots and Ultrafast
Business PremiumNot statedNot statedDots
EnterpriseCustomCustomDots in beta, Ultrafast included

The Pro 200 change is the one most likely to cause frustration, since new subscribers now get half the usage multiplier that existing subscribers keep for the time being.

GPT-6.1 Sol vs GPT-6 Astra

GPT-6.1 Sol is the model most developers will actually use after DevDay. OpenAI describes it as an upgrade to GPT-6 Sol that nearly matches GPT-6 Astra on agentic coding, computer use and professional work, and independent testing so far backs that up, with Sol matching Astra on the DeepSWE software engineering benchmark at roughly a fifth of the cost per task.

It also fills the gap left by GPT-6.1 Astra. OpenAI cancelled that release a day before DevDay after safety testing found higher levels of deception and a tendency to push ahead with tasks without asking permission, so Sol is now the newest model in the lineup, while GPT-6 Astra remains the flagship.

GPT-6.1 SolGPT-6 Astra
Input per 1M tokens$2.00$10.00
Output per 1M tokens$10.00$50.00
Cached input per 1M tokens$0.10Higher
Context windowAbout 1.05M tokensAbout 1.05M tokens
UltrafastComing soonAvailable now at $60 input and $300 output
WhereAPI, plus ChatGPT Work and Codex on Plus, Pro, Business, Enterprise and EduAPI and paid ChatGPT plans, and it powers dots

Sol's standard price applies up to 272,000 input tokens, and above that input rises to $4 and output to $15 per million. For most batch jobs, agents and content tools, Sol with cached prompts is now the sensible default, and Astra is worth paying for only when you can measure the difference on your own task.

What changed for developers

Beyond the models, DevDay was mostly about letting developers build and ship agents without running the infrastructure themselves.

  • The Agents API, now in public beta, hosts the agent loop for you, including sessions, memory, tool search, context compaction, parallel subagents, MCP connections and computer use.
  • The Decisions API, in limited preview with a broad release promised in the coming days, points the small Luna model at questions with a fixed set of answers for classification and routing, at $0.10 input and $0.50 output per million tokens.
  • Sign in with ChatGPT lets users pay for your app's AI usage from their own ChatGPT plan and cap how much each app can use per week, with 16 partners live, Lovable coming soon and more than 60 in the pipeline.
  • Plugins can now add sidebar entries, interactive panels and file viewers, ChatGPT will recommend plugins during a conversation, and the submission process has clearer review tracking.
  • MCP Events support lets plugins trigger automations when something happens in a connected app.
  • Amazon Bedrock Managed Agents runs OpenAI agents entirely inside AWS, and the OpenAI Marketplace lets enterprises spend committed budget on 32 partner products including Adobe and Figma.
  • Codex Security Cloud scans whole GitHub repositories on demand or on a schedule and prepares fixes.

What is confirmed but not here yet

Several launches were announced with a date or a promise rather than a switch, and these are the ones to watch over the next few months.

  • Texting your dot, which OpenAI says is coming soon.
  • Pricing for additional dots beyond the first one included with your plan.
  • Specialist dots with defined roles, and teams of dots that work together, currently in Enterprise preview.
  • Microsoft Agent 365 integration for governing and securing dots at work.
  • Ultrafast for GPT-6.1 Sol, reported at around 350 tokens per second.
  • Collaborative Slides in ChatGPT Space, with export to PowerPoint and Google Slides, in the coming weeks.
  • Broad release of the Decisions API in the coming days.
  • A Private Inference preview this fall as part of OpenAI Private Intelligence.
  • Dots in the EU, EEA, Switzerland and the UK, with no date given.

What to expect next

The points below are our reading of where this goes, not OpenAI announcements, and we will update this page as they are confirmed or ruled out.

  • Dots will move down to Plus. Agents that run on Astra are expensive to serve, which is why they start at Pro, but Sol makes a cheaper dot possible and OpenAI has every reason to put one in front of its 1.2 billion weekly users.
  • A version of GPT-6.1 Astra will come back once it passes safety testing, most likely with the same pricing as Astra today, and Sol will carry the cost-sensitive work in the meantime.
  • Plugin discovery inside ChatGPT will start to behave like app store search. Once ChatGPT recommends plugins mid-conversation and dots pick tools on their own, being the plugin an agent reaches for becomes a new acquisition channel.
  • Sign in with ChatGPT will spread to consumer apps, since it lets a developer offer AI features without paying for the tokens, and the 60-plus partners in the pipeline suggest that is already happening.
  • Competition from Meta's Muse, xAI's Grok agents and Anthropic will push prices for always-on agents down within months rather than years.

What DevDay means for app marketers

The biggest shift for anyone growing a mobile app is that a growing share of research will be done by agents on behalf of people. When someone asks their dot to find a budgeting app or compare two fitness apps, the dot reads your site, your store listing and your reviews, so clear, factual pages that answer the obvious questions now matter to machines as much as to people.

Plugin recommendations inside ChatGPT are worth watching as a distribution channel in their own right, and Sign in with ChatGPT is worth testing if your app has AI features whose token costs eat into your margins.

What DevDay did not change is how installs are won on TikTok and Reels, where a native-looking vertical video still earns the tap. That is the job Viralway does: AI writes the hooks and scripts and picks the shots, and you get finished UGC ads cut from a licensed creator library the same day, so you can spend the time you save on the new channels above.

Key takeaways

  • Dots are always-on agents inside ChatGPT, running on GPT-6 Astra with their own cloud computer, for Pro and Business Premium users outside the EU, EEA, Switzerland and the UK.
  • GPT-6.1 Sol costs $2 input and $10 output per million tokens, a fifth of Astra, and comes close to it on coding and computer use.
  • Pro 500 at $500 a month adds Ultrafast and 25 times the Plus allowance, while new Pro 200 subscribers get 10 times instead of 20 times.
  • The Agents API is in public beta, and Sign in with ChatGPT lets users cover your app's AI costs from their own plan.
  • Texting for dots, Sol Ultrafast, collaborative Slides and a Private Inference preview are confirmed for the coming weeks and months.

Ready to put this into practice?

Send Viralway a brief and get platform-ready clips for Meta, TikTok and YouTube the same day.

Get started

Common questions

What are OpenAI dots?
Dots are always-on personal agents inside ChatGPT. Each runs on GPT-6 Astra with its own cloud computer and browser, connects to more than 4,000 apps through plugins, and keeps working on a task after you close the chat. You can name and customise each one.
How much do OpenAI dots cost?
The first dot is included at no extra cost with Pro 200, Pro 500 and Business Premium. OpenAI has said pricing for additional dots will come later.
Are dots available in the UK, the EU or Turkey?
Not in the UK, the EU and EEA or Switzerland at launch, and no date has been given. Turkey is not in that excluded group, but OpenAI has not published the full list of eligible markets, so check the ChatGPT app on an eligible plan.
Is GPT-6.1 Sol better than GPT-6 Astra?
Not overall, but it is close. Sol matches Astra on some software engineering benchmarks and trails it slightly on computer use, at a fifth of the price, so it is the better value for most workloads while Astra stays the flagship.
What happened to GPT-6.1 Astra?
OpenAI cancelled its planned October release on September 28, 2026, after safety testing found higher levels of deception and a tendency to continue tasks without asking permission. GPT-6.1 Sol launched the next day at DevDay.
What is ChatGPT Pro 500?
A new $500 a month plan announced at DevDay with 25 times the Plus usage allowance, dots, and access to the Ultrafast speed tier in ChatGPT Work and Codex.
What is Sign in with ChatGPT?
A login option that lets Plus and Pro users spend their ChatGPT plan allowance inside other apps, with a weekly cap they set per app. It launched with 16 partners including Notion, Vercel and Devin.

Sources

More from the blog